Adventure Countdown: 1 Day

One day…. say what?!

The last 11 days since I wrote an “adventure countdown” post have completely flown by! I turned in my last undergraduate assignments, walked across the stage and received my diploma! I can’t believe I’m finally a college graduate. It feels a little weird to be able to say that. All the graduation craziness and moving out of my apartment has kept me super busy and now I’m only one day away from embarking on our European backpacking trip. What?! Departure day has really snuck up on me and now I find my to-do list slowing increasing as the hours before we leave quickly decreasing. Nonetheless, it will all get done because, well, it has to!

Adventure Countdown: 1 Day

If you’re just now joining me on this adventure I’ll fill you in on some of our trip details. We will be traveling through the Netherlands, Belgium (Brussels, Bruges, Ghent, Antwerp), France (Paris, Lyon), Spain (Barcelona, Madrid, Zaragoza, Seville, Córdoba), and the lovely London. If you have suggestions on things we can’t miss in any of the cities we’re traveling to, leave a comment below! We (and by we I mean my boyfriend and I) will be traveling with nothing more than a 45 liter backpack strapped to our backs. There’s really no other option than to pack light but that’s kind of the point!

I will be blogging along the way, but I’m not taking a laptop or tablet so everything will be through my phone. I’ve never solely blogged through my phone (writing posts) so it’ll be interesting but I’ll make it work. For tons of photos and more frequent updates during our adventure follow me on Instagram and TwitterTo receive e-mail updates for new posts, you can subscribe to Travel Far, Eat Well on the right sidebar.

Do you have any last minute tips before we embark on our adventure? Any suggestions for must-see places in the countries we’re visiting? Leave your thoughts in the comments below!

10 thoughts on “Adventure Countdown: 1 Day

  1. Hi Kate,

    Just thought we’d get in touch to say congratulations on graduating! We both graduated last year in the UK so we understand what an awesome feeling it is to have all the hard work pay off! London is great, and be sure to check out Churchill’s war bunkers near the houses of parliament (they cost about £17 to get in but it’s a fantastic experience) and also check out London’s ice bar (http://www.icebarlondon.com/) it’s a pretty surreal experience. If you like museums you must head to the Natural History Museum, British Museum and the Imperial War Museum. All of them are free and you’ll see some really cool, very rare artefacts.

    We’ve just been to Barcelona this weekend to watch the F1. Make sure you try the tapas! And if, like me (Dan), you’re partial to a beer now and again make sure you try Estrella! (more commonly known as Barcelona beer). The unfinished cathedral here is an amazing spectacle too, and we recommend the Barcelona city tour bus. It will literally take you to everything you could want to see!

    Amsterdam in the Netherlands is quirky place too and is a real mix of interesting places and people. The Anne Frank Museum is a great place to visit, and the Heineken museum. We’re off to Brussels next weekend. We’ll be sure to message you with anything worth visiting.

    Where are you first flying? Have fun!

    Dan and Soph

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much for all the wonderful suggestions, Dan and Soph!! The ice bar in London looks really fun 🙂 I will definitely have the try the Estrella beer in Barcelona, it sounds really good. The Anne Frank Museum is definitely at the top of our list for Amsterdam. We will be flying in and out of London but we’re going straight to Amsterdam after we land so we are doing London at the very end of our trip. Have a wonderful time in Brussels! I’m excited to try these waffles 🙂 Happy Travels!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

