The Liebster Award

I would like to thank Rachel at The Long Way Home for nominating me for the Liebster Award, this is an award by bloggers, for bloggers. It’s passed around to help give more visibility and recognition to newer bloggers. Go check out The Long Way Home, I really love all her posts on South America, I’ve been itching to get down there and she inspires me to go even more!

Liebster Award

The Rules (there are a ton of variations of the rules but these are the ones I’m following):
– Each nominee must link back to the person who nominated them.
– Answer the 11 questions given to you by the nominator.
– Nominate 3 other bloggers who have less than 200 followers.
– Create 11 questions for the nominees to answer.
– Let the nominees know they have been nominated.

With that said, my answers to the questions Rachel asked…

1. When you visit a country what takes your interest most: food, people, history, architecture, or the great outdoors?

That’s a tough question, I really try to fully submerse myself in all parts of a country’s culture. If I had to choose, I would say the architecture- I think the architecture of the buildings and cathedrals are absolutely beautiful. I think I’m drawn to the architecture the most because the buildings and monuments in the U.S. are modernized so I find the history and architecture in Europe fascinating.

2. What is the most memorable trip you took as a child?

I can’t pinpoint one particular trip but I would say the countless road trips to Colorado with my family. Growing up, we took at least one trip to Colorado every year and it has easily become my favorite state. I love being able to snowboard in the winter and hike in the summer.

3. Where are you travelling to next, and why?

My next adventure will be with my boyfriend, we are going to backpack through Europe for 5 weeks and will be in Holland, Belgium, France, Spain and London. This adventure is mostly a celebration for me graduating with my bachelor’s degree before I start a full-time job, plus my wanderlust is on overload- I’m in serious need of an adventure 🙂

4. Mountains, ocean, desert or jungle?

Mountains.

Colorado Mountains

5. Do you use a certain brand of guidebook to plan your travels?

I have been using Rick Steve’s guidebooks for Europe to help plan my travels, I really like his tips and recommendations on what to see in different countries.

6. What was your worst travel experience?

The worst travel experience that comes to mind was actually when I was younger and was on a vacation with my family in Colorado. We hiked to the top of this mountain and once at the top, I was stepping through a barbed wire fence, tripped and fell forward into a cactus.. yeah, it hurt really bad. I had a ton of cactus spines sticking out of my left arm and I had to walk all the way down the mountain and ride back to the hotel before my parents could start to pull all the spines out of my arm. To this day, I still avoid cactuses at all costs.

7. Where in the world have you found people most welcoming?

I have only traveled in Europe and North America and I have found most everyone really welcoming and friendly.

Mediterranean Coast

8. You’re given a car for free: What is your dream road trip?

I think my dream road trip would be from the southern tip of Italy up the Mediterranean coast toward France.

9. Where do you find travel inspiration while at home?

This is a great question! I find that a lot of people are so focused on traveling outside their home country and forget to experience all the beauty and unique places so close to home. I recently started a new feature called Best of the Midwest where I showcase different unique, hidden gems within the Midwest. When I can’t travel outside the U.S., I try to find unique destinations and experiences close to home to satisfy my wanderlust.

Best of the Midwest: Hemmed-In Hollow

10. Do you have any phobias, and have they affected your adventures?

I don’t have any phobias that have affected my travels, at least not so far.

11. Hot or cold destinations?

I have to go with cold destinations, I love the mountains too much.

My nominations:

1. Becca at the Persephone Perspective – Becca’s blog has easily become one of my favorites, she has turned me into a SEA lover and now I can’t wait to visit! She truly captures the culture and lifestyle of the country she’s in, some of my favorite posts of hers have been Reasons to Ride Japan (obviously, since I love the mountains) and Diving with Mantas (something I hope to do in the future).

2. Ana at Wandering Sun – I haven’t been following Ana’s blog for very long but I love her beautiful photos and descriptive writing style. She does a wonderful job portraying the culture of Thailand, I especially love her post about the Patara Elephant Farm in Chiang Mai, what an awesome experience- it has definitely been added to my bucket list!

3. Ashley at CĂłmo Perderse en España – I was really drawn to Ashley’s blog because Spain holds a special place in my heart, having studied abroad there. I love her honesty about what it’s like to live and work in Spain– in particular I love her post about why to learn another language. I think it’s so important, especially nowadays, to be multilingual and I’m glad others feel the same way!

Questions for the nominees (I’m going to steal a few from Rachel since she asked great questions):

1. Why did you start blogging?
2. What’s the story behind your blog name?
3. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?
4. What was your worst travel experience?
5. What’s the most breathtaking sight you’ve seen internationally?
6. What is your favorite way to unwind?
7. What’s the best food you’ve had abroad?
8. What has been your most memorable travel experience?
9. Where do you find travel inspiration while at home?
10. Do you prefer air or ground transportation to get around?
11. What is one place you could visit again and again?

5 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

      • It’s a classic work of architecture and the definitive symbol of romance. Imagine seeing that through your window when looking up in the morning! Obviously i’d have to get a French bakery too as part of the deal haha. Iguazu Falls would probably be mine.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Love your answers. The cactus incident must have been painful but makes for a great story! I also love your idea of trying to explore as much as possible on your doorstep – I’m attempting the same in the UK this year and living in London makes for a full doorstep!! I plan to do a road trip through the US in the future as I’ve only seen New York and Seattle so far….

    Like

    • Thanks, Rachel! Exploring places close to home also helps save money which is never a bad thing! A road trip across the U.S. is the perfect way to see all the wonderful things around the country, I’m sure you’ll have a great time when you go 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

