A Pit Stop in Verona, Italy

One of the greatest love stories of all time.

On my first trip to Italy, we left Florence and made a pit stop in Verona en route to Austria. Verona lures thousands of romantics every year because it sets the stage for Shakespeare’s famous drama about star-crossed lovers Romeo and Juliet. Even though Romeo and Juliet were fictional characters, a trip to Verona wouldn’t be complete without stopping to see Casa di Guilietta and the balcony where Juliet stood while Romeo declared his love. It’s oh so romantic.

A Pit Stop in Verona, Italy

They say if you touch Juliet’s right breast it will bring you good fortune in love, so don’t miss out on that either! A little extra good fortune for our love lives can never be a bad thing, am I right?

A Pit Stop in Verona, Italy

The courtyard around Juliet’s balcony is covered in graffiti and love notes left behind by romantics from all over the world.

A Pit Stop in Verona, Italy

Have you been to Verona? What was your favorite part? Leave your thoughts in the comments below!

9 thoughts on “A Pit Stop in Verona, Italy

  1. Hi! I was in Verona last summer. I didn’t visit Juliet’s house as it’s not genuine and has no historical value for me. But I loved the city. I was there for the open air opera festival at Arena di Verona. It was amazing. The city is so calm, and so pretty. I fell in love with the tiny streets with Venetian style architecture. Such amazing photo material on every corner. I think I would visit Verona in the future if I have the chance.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I definitely understand your choice to skip Juliet’s house considering they’re fictional characters! I visited Verona right after graduating high school and we studied Shakespeare a lot so I was interested to see it, even though it’s not real (I didn’t go into the museum, just the courtyard), I’m a romantic at heart 🙂 An open air opera festival sounds incredible! I fell in love with Verona too and hope to return one day. Thanks for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I lived in Verona for more than a year and loved every minute! While it’s true Juliet’s house has no real association with the “star-crossed lovers”, it does have significant historical meaning as it’s a very old building in the heart of an ancient city. Plus, I can’t help but think that the million romantic hopefuls who have left their love messages scribbled on the walls have left a heavy romantic imprint on the scene that you can palpably feel and appreciate. I went there often and may have even left some love graffiti of my own. You’ll notice that Juliet’s breast is bright gold, because you are promised to be lucky in love if you rub her breast. 🙂 Love the pix! Thank you for sharing!!

    Like

    • You can definitely feel the romantic ambience surrounding the courtyard! I wasn’t going to miss out on some luck in my love life and I’ve been with my boyfriend for almost 4 years so it must really be true 😉 I was in Verona for such a short time, I definitely want to go back and spend more time, it was such a beautiful city! Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

