Europe Flights are Booked!

“The biggest adventure you can take is to live the life of your dreams.”

As I pressed the final “purchase” button, I felt a wave of different emotions wash over me- excited, nervous, eager, passion. I think it finally hit me that in four short months, I will be graduating from college and my boyfriend and I will be embarking on the adventure of a lifetime. Some people never get the chance to travel outside their country and I feel so fortunate and blessed to have the opportunity to fulfill my dream of seeing the world one adventure at a time. This trip will hold a lot of “firsts” for me- the first time I will travel outside the country with my boyfriend, the first time I’ll go backpacking, the first time I’ll travel by rail. It’s exhilarating knowing this adventure is getting closer every single day and the first step in making this dream a reality was purchasing the flights (check!).

Europe Flights are Booked || Travel Far, Eat Well

Now, with every adventure comes deviations from the original plan and our Europe trip is no exception. Our original plan was altered slightly due to cheaper flights through London rather than Amsterdam. We made the very hard (not!) decision to go with the cheaper tickets and fly in/out of London which sounds wonderful to me since I am dying to tour Harry Potter Studios (I’m currently reading all 7 books, again!). Thus we extended our trip a few extra days (even for cheaper flight prices, score!) so we would have adequate time to explore London. Our new itinerary includes London, Holland, Belgium, France, and Spain. The cities we plan to visit are London, Amsterdam with a couple day trips (locations to be determined), Antwerp, Bruges, Ghent, Brussels, Paris, Lyon, Barcelona, Madrid, and Seville. This is going to be a pretty fast-paced trip but I know one day we will return and spend more time exploring each country.

Travel Far, Eat Well

With the flights booked, there is no turning back- not that I want to. As the departure date gets closer, I’ll start booking our lodging accommodations (a mixture of airbnb apartments & hostels) and purchase our Eurail passes. I’ll continue to update on my trip planning progress throughout the upcoming months.

Have any tips as the departure date gets closer? Any must-bring items for backpacking trips? 

6 thoughts on “Europe Flights are Booked!

  1. I would recommend Utrecht as a day trip from Amsterdam and maybe also Rotterdam as it is entirely different to everywhere else in the country. Haarlem is also lovely by all accounts – but if you need any tips closer to the time feel free to ask! All of these are accessible in under an hour by train (Utrecht and Haarlem in under half an hour).

    Like

    • Thank you for the suggestions! We are definitely planning to check out Haarlem, but we weren’t sure on the others so I will have to look into Utrecht and Rotterdam. I’m sure I’ll be reaching out to you for more advice closer to our trip 🙂

      Like

  2. Sounds amazing! But you skipped Germany and Sweden 😉 it’s not far from the Netherlands to cologne or even Frankfurt. If you’re able so squeeze in a day trip to Munich or Hamburg it will definitely be worth! So looking forward to your blog posts 😍

    Like

    • Thank you! It was so hard to leave out Germany, trust me! I really want to go but we just don’t have time on this trip. I’ve been to Munich and I really want to spend a few weeks in Germany rather than a couple days. It was a hard decision but we’ll be back for Germany on another trip 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

